Monument record BSE 010 - Bury Abbey; Queens House (Sax)
Please read our guidance about the use of Suffolk Historic Environment Record data.
|Grid reference||Centred TL 857 642 (26m by 27m) (Centred on)|
|Civil Parish||BURY ST EDMUNDS, ST EDMUNDSBURY, SUFFOLK|
Type and Period (5)
A small monastery was founded in circa 633. Later after matyrdom of St Edmund in circa 869, King Edmunds body was transferred to Bury. In C10 the community was of secular priests, replaced by 20 Benedictine monks of King Canute in circa 1020 (for later history see Med)(S1).
1976-1980: Excavations by Humphrey Wood & Anthony Fleming (S2) of the complete interior of 'The Queen's House' and a small adjoining area to the west (R Carr, pers comm), located remains of M & LSax buildings, Ipswich & Thetford type ware and an iron stylus (11.0cm long). Details to follow?
For Late Saxon stonework/architectural fragments (including polychrome relief floor-tiles) etc from the site see (S3 & S4).
For MSax glass within abbey grounds see BSE 120.
Also IA & Med.
- <M1> SSF50072 Unpublished document: Suffolk Archaeological Service. Parish file. Parish file: photocopy of stylus.
- <S1> SSF5242 Unpublished document: Department of the Environment. Scheduling information.
- <S2> SSF3139 (No record type): Carr J, Suffolk Excavations index archive, ms, 1989.
- <S3> SSF50250 Article in serial: Suffolk Institute of Archaeology and History. Proceedings of the Suffolk Institute of Archaeology and History. Gem R & Keen L, 'Late A'-Sax' finds from the site of St. Edmunds Abbey', 35 (1), 1981, 1-30, ill.
- <S4> SSF58511 Unpublished document: Samuel, M.. 2005. Bury St Edmunds Abbey: Report on the Architectural Fragments from The Excavations of 1857-64 of The East Arm, Crossing & Transept Arm.
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (1)
Record last edited
Apr 27 2018 1:32PM